My Department, Inc.

As a manager of one of your company’s departments, whether a “line” department such as customer service or a “staff” department such as accounting,  you may fear that your department will be “outsourced.”  It happens all the time.  When it does, in most cases it is because senior management has determined that your department’s function can be performed better and cheaper by another company.

Certainly, labor costs, particularly overseas, play a big factor, but that is often not the biggest reason that your department fell short.  In most cases, it was because your department, and you, got too complacent.  Your attitude, and therefore the attitude of your team was, “we’ll try to do our best but since we are part of the company they have to use our services.” Well, you were wrong and now its too late.

Leaders of internal departmental functions that have, instead, embraced the philosophy that they must constantly prove that they truly deliver the best value to their company, generally thrive.  These department leaders think like entrepreneurs.  They benchmark their competition, external companies that provide similar services for a fee.  They constantly measure their own performance against these benchmarks, maniacally striving to lead the pack.  They seek out and implement best practices.

In short, they think of their own departmental function as an independent company that must retain their customer through excellent performance and clear value add.  They are the CEO of their Department, Inc.

About Norm Baker

I am an award winning business enabler, not a bureaucrat, specializing in creating and enhancing my company's culture as a Best Place to Work. Recently named as HR Professional of the Year by the Human Resources Association of Palm Beach County and recipient of the HR Excellence Award from South Florida Business and Wealth magazine. As a Human Resources Leader, I ensure a fully engaged work culture. Using innovative and compelling approaches to recruiting and selecting the best talent, on-boarding and developing our people to their full potential and constantly building on a work environment that maximizes their contributions and my company's ROI. Equally important, I eliminate liabilities by managing conflict to enhance job performance and negate legal concerns. As a sales and operational professional, I generate revenue while building and retaining my client base. Grounded with 15 years experience with Exxon and American Express, culminating as Vice President, I’ve since taken on even broader, company-wide roles with small to mid-size companies. I bring a formidable arsenal of programs, strategies, techniques and contacts. My flexibility in approach, embrace of ideas and feedback, along with my decisiveness in decision-making and implementation, have left a profound impact on each of my organizations. My integrity and loyalty have made me a trusted confidant to CEOs and all levels of management and staff.
This entry was posted in Business, Human Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My Department, Inc.

Leave a comment